Skip to main content

Quatuor TANA

string quartet

artists list
Quatuor TANA
© Nathalie Gabay


Since 2010, the Tana Quartet has enjoyed combining its scores at all times. Driven by the desire to create, Tana combines aesthetics, decompartmentalizes, confronts and compares them, reinventing the link between past and future, forging its tradition. The quartet has performed in the most famous concert halls - from the Philharmonie de Paris to the Palau de la Musica in Barcelona, the Villa Medici in Rome and the Wiener Konzerthaus - winning many prestigious prizes: 1st HSBC Laureate of the Académie du Festival d'Aix-en-Provence, Coup de Cœur de l'Académie Charles Cros, Prix Fuga, and les Octaves de la musique.

The Tana Quartet is a recognised player in contemporary music, having worked closely with composers worldwide and premiered over 250 works, including Fedele, Hurel, Parra and others. The quartet's discography includes twelve albums, comprising Shadows that contributed to the rise of the saturation movement; the complete string quartets of Philip Glass (CHOC Classica 2018); and most recently, Bleu Ébène, featuring the complete string quartets of the composer Achenberg.

The Tana Quartet are also active in musical research and are partners of several national creation centres, including IRCAM, GMEM, GRAME, Art Zoyd, and the Centre Henri Pousseur. In 2015, the quartet created its electroacoustic instruments, the TanaInstruments. Tana then signed the first piece for TanaInstruments, Smaqra, with the composer Arroyo, a composition that called for others gathered on the VOLTS disc, marking "a milestone in the history of the quartet genre" (

See other musicians

OSR Live

video thumbnail

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphonie N° 4 en si bémol majeur op. 60

Jonathan Nott


Recorded on 30 July 2020 at Victoria Hall, Geneva

video thumbnail

Jonathan Nott | Sergey Khachatryan

Concerto pour violon et orchestre

Recorded on 30 July 2020 at Victoria Hall, Geneva