Matthias Pintscher, conductor
Leila Josefowicz, violin
Agneta Eichenholz, soprano
Delphine Haidan, mezzo-soprano

Zürcher Sing-Akademie (dir. Andreas Felber)

Alban Berg's final completed work, his Violin Concerto 'To the memory of an angel’ is dedicated to the memory of Manon, the daughter of Alma Mahler and the architect Walter Gropius, who passed away at the age of 18. His twelve-tone writing, tinged with the tonality of a Bach chorale quotation, shows that this process can also produce sensitive and touching music. Written over the period of a few months, the Concerto was never heard by its author, who died of an insect bite a few weeks before its premiere. Composed by Felix Mendelssohn in two parts, the music for A Midsummer Night's Dream is one of the works best expressing the compatibility of music and Shakespearean fairyland.

Alban Berg

Violin Concerto ('To the memory of an angel')

Félix Mendelssohn

Overture and incidental music to 'A Midsummer Night's Dream, op. 21 et 61', after Shakespeare
mercredi 22 avril Victoria Hall — 20h00 Giocoso Association genevoise des amis de l'Orchestre de la Suisse Romande
jeudi 23 avril Salle Métropole — 20h15 Grazioso
Subscribe !

En vous abonnant, vous profitez:
- D'une sélection de concerts par thème
- De tarifs avantageux
- Du choix de votre place

Découvrir les offres